Sardines with Tomatoes and Onions

This is a dish that my mom used to make for us growing up. Using Ayam Brand canned sardines, I stir-fry some sliced yellow onions with some peanut oil and sesame seed oil, then I add the tomato sauce from the cans, a generous dollop of ketchup, dark soy sauce and lightly sautéed the tomatoes. I used tomatoes on vines for their sweet flavor. Next, I added the condiment I made with the sardines and heat them up in the microwave for a few minutes. I also added some dried parsley to garnish the dish. The aroma of the sardines though strong brings back memories of home in South East Asia. I brought this dish to a very dear friend’s Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebration. It was very kind of her and her husband to have us over. We had such a good time and had various yummy Indonesian food.

  

Leave a Reply

