Mushroom Bisque

I have been thinking about what to do with the mushrooms I bought so today I made a mushroom bisque with the following ingredients:

1/2 cup of Unsalted Butter

1 Red Onion Minced

1 Chopped Garlic

Oyster Mushrooms

Shitake Mushrooms

Portabello Mushrooms

Dry Sherry

Oyster Sauce

Soy Sauce Paste

Chopped Basil

Chopped Parsley

1 Pint Heavy Cream

1 Cup of Whole Milk

Black Pepper

Method: First, I minced up the red onion in a food processor, next I chopped up the garlic and browned them with unsalted butter. It was unfortunate that my food processor was not able to mince up the mushrooms, so I obtained about 1 cup of puréed mushrooms, the rest of the mushrooms were chunky as I forgot to cut them up further. That added texture to the bisque. It looks like it’s time to invest in a vitamix machine from Costco. After I browned the onion and garlic, I added the mushroom chunks and sautéed them on high heat while seasoning them with oyster sauce, soy sauce paste and dry sherry. Next, I added the puréed mushrooms, heavy cream and whole milk and brought the bisque to a boil followed by adding chopped fresh basil and Italian parsley. The bisque was yummy with French loaf and my special pork chops. Pork chop recipe coming up soon. Bon appetite!









Leave a Reply

