Singapore Fanfare: Fish and Shrimp Otah, Hainanese Chicken Rice, Baked Asparagus and Spicy Dried Shrimp Flavored Green Bean with Tempeh

I cooked a bunch of dishes today for the rest of the week. The first dish is a Singapore Malay Food call Otah. I made it the way my mom made hers, mincing up fish with shrimp and mixing the paste with coconut milk and egg. I flavored the dish with Thai fish sauce and garnished the casserole with two panda leaves for extra fragrance and flavor. The dish is baked covered with foil at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes then I removed the foil and broiled the dish for a few minutes until the egg mixture on the top part kind of caramelized in a few spots.
20140420-010025.jpg
I also made Hainanese Chicken which I had been craving for but couldn’t find any good ones in town. I boiled a lot of water and dunked the chicken into a big pot of boiling water and brought the chicken to a boil for 15 minutes, then I let it simmer with very little bubbling for 10 minutes. After that I turned off the stove and let the chicken continue cooking in the pot for 45 minutes. Next, I poured out the broth to be used for making the chicken rice and poured ice water into the chicken until it was submerged. I cut up the chicken after it had completely cooled down.
20140420-010056.jpg
20140420-010119.jpg
Love this asparagus dish which I seasoned with plenty of lemon juice, a dash of garlic salt, garlic powder, onion powder and olive oil! Love the zing that the sour lemon juice gave me! 20140420-011047.jpg
This is a stir fry of green bean with tempeh flavored by shallots, garlic, Thai Chilli peppers, ginger and dried shrimp flakes.
20140420-011106.jpg

Our Good Friday dinner tonight. Happy Easter! 20140420-021730.jpg

Leave a Reply

