The Real Singapore Noodles Homestyle Version

20140405-191308.jpg

This is my version of Singapore Noodles also called Char Bee Hoon which is modeled loosely after my mom’s version which has shitake mushrooms.

The brown soy bean jerkies are tricky to fry. It’s the first time that I didn’t burn them. They turned dark and crispy after they are removed from the frying pan while they continue to get cooked on their own by the oil on them. I have learned not to fry them till they are too dark. A medium brown as long as the surface of each piece has bubbled up is ideal. Fry on low heat to prevent splattering.

They said pictures are worth a thousand words. I will let the pictures speak for the types of ingredients I used.

I like egg in my rice noodles but I usually don’t add any as the leftovers don’t keep well.

Let’s eat!

20140405-191332.jpg

Leave a Reply

